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Rule Change Request Document

	Name:
	Nikki Carter
	 
	Country:
	Chairman


	Summary of Change Requested:

	There has been much referee discussion about who should replace a flag that falls out of the holder in Four Flag and Triple Flag – or if a single box falls off in Association, or a hammer drops in Tool Box, or a late falling pole in Sped Weavers or a mug gae. This is an attempt to solve the confusion



	Current Rule Book Wording:

	· CR6.4.  If a piece of equipment is displaced after a rider has crossed the Start/Finish line and before the next rider has crossed the Start/Finish line, it is the responsibility of the active rider to replace it. To do so, he/she should ride to the dislodged equipment immediately, make the correction and then recross the Start/Finish line before continuing with their part of the race.  

· CR6.5.  If a piece of equipment is displaced after the last rider in that lane has crossed the Finish line, no elimination is incurred.  

· CR11.2.  Errors must be undone and then corrected in the right sequence before proceeding.  

A hammer is considered to be in the toolbox if it is supported solely by the toolbox and not supported or aided by any other object or person. 



	Suggested New Rule Book Wording:

	CR6.4.  If a piece of equipment is displaced after a rider has crossed the Start/Finish line and before the next rider has crossed the Start/Finish line, either rider may replace it. To do so, he/she should ride to the dislodged equipment immediately, make the correction and then recross the Start/Finish line before continuing with their part of the race..

CR6.5.  If a piece of equipment placed by an earlier rider in the race is displaced the active rider must replace any equipment they have moved, then replace the displaced equipment before continuing their race.
· CR6.6.  If a piece of equipment is displaced after the last rider in that lane has crossed the Finish line, no elimination is incurred.  



	Reason for Change Request:

	CR 6.4 refers to the active rider, although depending on the interpretation of active, neither or both  riders are active at that point in time – the incoming rider has finished their leg, so is no longer active (they crossed the line and the equipment was in place as in CR 6.5) and the outgoing rider has not started.

There has been much discussion amongst referees about who should replace a flag that has dropped out of the Four Flag/Triple Flag holder. Should it be the active rider or should the whole race be rewound and the person who put in the flag originally? 
This rule rewording is based on current rules in other games. 

We have the rule that a hammer is judged to be in the toolbox if it is supported solely by the toolbox and is not supported by anything else, if the hammer subsequently falls off/out of the toolbox the active rider picks it up.

On that reasoning, a flag that is partially in the tube, unsupported by anything else apart from prayer, must be judged to be in the holder and if it falls later then the active rider should be allowed to correct the problem. The error must be corrected immediately the flag falls to the ground
We have three different scenarios, and considering each makes it easier to work out. The first two are adequately covered by existing rules. It is the third that needs to have a rule

1. Rider 3 puts in flag, heads for the line but before he gets there it falls out - obviously he goes back and puts it in AND if it was his flag that came out he should do it mounted. If it was rider 2's flag that fell out, he could replace it unmounted

2. If Rider 3 has crossed the line but rider 4 hasn't yet entered the field of play when the flag drops out the holder then either rider can go in and replace it mounted or unmounted but must come back over the start line before the race continues - just like a changeover dropped in the field of play. 

3. If rider 4 has entered the field of play and a flag drops out then they must put it back in the holder mounted or dismounted BEFORE they do anything else. So if they are going up to collect their flag then they come back, put in the dropped flag then go and get their own.

The subject of much discussion has been what If they have collected their flag (box) from the top? It has been agreed that the rider should return ‘their’ flag to the cone at the top, correct the dropped flag (unmounted) ride to the top collect their flag and constinue. There is no need for them to recross the start line they can hold it while they put in the dropped one (mounted or unmounted)  then put in their own flag (mounted) ie they can lean down and pick up the dropped flag, put it in then put in their own. If they have put in their own flag they must pick up the fallen one and put it in before finishing

The rule needs to be generalised – it need not be a flag, it could be a box that was not fully stacked in Association, a hammer hanging on the tool box
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	Reference:
	2018 – 07


	Submission Date:
	16/06/2018


	Decision Date:
	14/08/2018


	Votes

	Jens Martin
	In Favour

	Nikki Carter
	In Favour

	Iain Hopkins
	In Favour

	Dafydd Leach
	In Favour

	Valentin Vieilledent
	In Favour

	Margaret Welsby
	In Favour

	Total In Favour:
	6

	Total Not In Favour:
	0


	Result:
	Change Accepted


	Actual Adopted New Rule Book Wording:

	CR6.4.  If a piece of equipment is displaced after a rider has crossed the Start/Finish line and before the next rider has crossed the Start/Finish line, either rider may replace it. To do so, he/she should ride to the dislodged equipment immediately, make the correction and then recross the Start/Finish line before continuing with their part of the race. 

CR6.5.  If a piece of equipment correctly placed by an earlier rider becomes displaced after that rider has crossed the Start/Finish line the active rider must replace it it. To do so, he/she should ride to the dislodged equipment immediately, make the correction and then  continue with their part of the race. 

CR6.6.  If a piece of equipment is displaced after the last rider in that lane has crossed the Finish line, no elimination is incurred.



	Reason for Decision:

	Plenty of discussion on this one but the resulting change should make things clearer and more logical.


	Implementation Date:
	January 1st 2019
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